

JOINT MEDIA RELEASE

2023 Mayors' Short Story Challenge Winners Announced! 11 September 2023

At the 2023 Mayors' Short Story Challenge Presentation, young writers from across the region were recognised and celebrated for their talents.

An initiative of Alexandrina Council, City of Victor Harbor and the District Council of Yankalilla, the Challenge encourages school-aged students from reception to year 10 to let their imaginations run wild and share stories through creative writing.

517 entries were received from the City of Victor Harbor, 403 from Alexandrina Council, and 176 from District Council of Yankalilla.

The 2023 Mayors' Short Story Challenge winners were revealed at a celebration held at the Victor Harbor Council Chambers on Thursday, September 7. More than 180 individuals gathered from all across the Fleurieu Peninsula to recognise the talented work of each and every participant.

Winners in each category received a \$50 book voucher and the overall winner from each Council area received an additional prize of a \$50 book voucher. Each overall winner's home school was further awarded \$1000 from their local Council.

In presenting the awards, the Mayors of each Council commended those children who accepted the challenge and demonstrated their creative writing abilities. They also thanked the three public libraries for coordinating the challenge, as well as the principals, teacher-librarians, teachers, and student service officers who played key roles in encouraging the students to participate and showcase their talents.

The prizes were provided by the respective Councils and 'Friends of the Library' groups.

2023 Mayors' Short Story Challenge Winners

Category	Alexandrina Council	City of Victor Harbor	District Council of Yankalilla
Reception	Isabella Andrews	Florence Trevorrow	Hugo Vaughan
to Year 2	Year 2	Year 2	Year 1
	Mount Compass Area School	Investigator College	Yankalilla Area School
Year 3 to	James Spencer	Bethany Daniels	Emma Potter
Year 4	Year 3	Year 3	Year 4
	Tyndale Christian School	Investigator College	Rapid Bay Primary
	Strathalbyn		School



Year 5 to	Commo Cloggott	Ayla Cillias	Tayla Dassan
rear 5 to	Gemma Cleggett	Ayla Gillies	Tayla Deacon
Year 7	Year 7	Year 7	Year 6
	Eastern Fleurieu School 7-12	Investigator College	Myponga Primary
	Strathalbyn		School
Year 8 to	Catherine Green	Ivy McGivern	Lilly Wenham
Year 10	Year 10	Year 8	Year 9
	Home School	Victor Harbor High School	Yankalilla Area School
Overall	Gemma Cleggett	Ayla Gillies	Emma Potter
Winner	Year 7	Year 7	Year 4
	Eastern Fleurieu School 7-12	Investigator College	Rapid Bay Primary
	Strathalbyn		School

For enquiries regarding the publication of this article contact:

Alexandrina Council:

Communications Adviser – 8555 7000 / communications@alexandrina.sa.gov.au

City of Victor Harbor:

Communications Officer – 8551 0500 / ewarren@victor.sa.gov.au

District Council of Yankalilla:

Communications Officer – 8558 0200 / liz.soper@yankalilla.sa.gov.au