

MEDIA RELEASE

Cr Margaret Gardner secures year as Council's next Deputy Mayor

26 October 2023

Alexandrina Council has appointed South Ward Councillor Margaret Gardner as its next Deputy Mayor for a 12-month term finishing on 30 November 2024.

Cr Gardner will replace current Deputy Mayor and West Ward Councillor Bill Coomans whose term ends on 30 November 2023.

Alexandrina Council has traditionally elected one of its Council Members to the position of Deputy Mayor on an annual rotation basis.

An election was held during October's Council Meeting with three candidates nominated – Cr Gardner, Cr Bill Coomans and Cr Peter Oliver.

"I thank Cr Coomans for his diligent service over the past year and I welcome the opportunity to work with Cr Gardner in the ensuing 12 months," Alexandrina Mayor Keith Parkes said.

"Deputy Mayor is a position of responsibility. In my absence, the Deputy Mayor may act in the office of Mayor and carry out a range of functions including presiding over meetings of Council, acting as the principal spokesperson of Council, providing advice to the Chief Executive Officer as required, representing Council at Civic and Ceremonial functions, and participating in key meetings with stakeholders.

"Cr Gardner has considerable experience liaising with community stakeholders and, as Cr Lou Nicholson said in her nomination of Cr Gardner, it is important to provide opportunities to elevate women to positions of leadership."

Cr Gardner is a Board Member on the Fleurieu Regional Aquatic Centre Authority Board, and a Council Representative on the Cemeteries Advisory Committee, the Heritage Advisory Committee, the Southern Communities Transport Advisory Committee (proxy), the Community Wellbeing Grant Assessment Panel and the Chief Executive Officer Performance Management Panel.

The allowance for a Councillor who is a Deputy Mayor is \$23,887.50 per annum.

For enquires regarding the publication of this article contact;

Tash Hunt

Phone: 8555 7000 / 0458 869 232

Email: communications@alexandrina.sa.gov.au