COVID-19 Response

Council offices and libraries are open. For information about Council services affected click here and for the latest updates on Alexandrina Council's response to COVID-19 click here

Please contact us by phone 8555 7000 or email

Dismiss alert

Council Elections

About Local Government Elections

2018 was a Council election year.  The community elects their council members every four years.  The next general election will occur in 2022.

Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections and voting is done by post.

Alexandrina Council is divided into five Wards for the purposes of local government elections:

  • Angas Bremer Ward
  • Goolwa-Hindmarsh Island Ward
  • Nangkita-Kuitpo Ward
  • Port Elliot-Middleton Ward
  • Strathalbyn Ward

All those on the Voters Roll for Alexandrina also receive the Mayoral Ballot.  Please view a map of Ward boundaries here.

The 2018 election results are available on the Electoral Commission SA website:

Elected Member contact details are available here.

For more information about enrolling to vote, nominating as a candidate for election, or voting in the election, click on the images below.

council elections 2018 council elections 2018 council elections 2018

More information? 

Local Government Association of SA: Local Government Elections

Electoral Commission of South Australia: ECSA

This content is authorised by Glenn Rappensberg, 11 Cadell Street, Goolwa SA 5214.