Voting in Council elections

Note: 2018 was a Council election year. Voting closed at 5pm on 9 November 2018The next general election of council will be held in 2022.

Voting in Council elections

Voting in council elections

Voting in council elections is done by post. Enrolled voters receive a voting package through the mail and return their vote in a reply paid envelope.

Voters on the state (House of Assembly) electoral roll or who have completed an enrolment to join the supplementary roll, receive a voting pack in the mail.

More information on how to vote in council elections is provided here by the Electoral Commission SA.

Local democracy is an important feature of life in Australia, and councils have a far greater influence on communities than most people appreciate.

Alexandrina Council is divided into five Wards for the purposes of local government elections:

  • Angas Bremer Ward
  • Goolwa-Hindmarsh Island Ward
  • Nangkita-Kuitpo Ward
  • Port Elliot-Middleton Ward
  • Strathalbyn Ward

All those on the Voters Roll for Alexandrina also receive the Mayoral Ballot. Please view a map of Ward boundaries here.

This content is authorised by Glenn Rappensberg, 11 Cadell Street, Goolwa SA 5214.

Return to Council Elections main page.