Please note, as of August 2020 the Council Assessment Panel was replaced by the Fleurieu Regional Assessment Panel.

The Fleurieu Regional Assessment Panel (FRAP) is an independent body that has been established under the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016.  The FRAP is responsible for considering qualifying Development Applications within Alexandrina Council and the District Council of Yankalilla. The Panel consists of the following five (5) members:

Independent Members

  • Michael Doherty (Presiding Member)
  • Ross Bateup
  • Sue Giles
  • Kate Shierlaw

Council Member

  • Cr Bill Coomans (Alexandrina Council)

Deputy Council Member

  • Cr Simon Rothwell (District Council of Yankalilla)

Assessment Manager

  • Matt Atkinson (Acting General Manager Community - Alexandrina Council)
  • Cameron Gibbons (Acting Assessment Manager - Alexandrina Council)

The role of the Fleurieu Regional Assessment Panel is to make decisions on planning applications, as required, in accordance with the relevant Planning policy.  All members have a keen interest in community planning and have sound knowledge of the relevant legislation under which their decision making is guided.  All members have the appropriate qualifications and/or experience required to undertake a development assessment role.

The role of the Assessment Manager is to manage the staff and operations of the Panel and to provide advice to the Panel as appropriate.

The Panel meetings are scheduled for the third Tuesday of the month at 11:00am, with the venue to be determined prior to the meeting and notified with the Agenda.

Agendas are available at Council libraries and on Council’s website one week prior to the meeting.

All meetings are open to the community.

Archived Council Assessment Panel Agendas and Minutes

Archived Development Assessment Panel Agendas and Minutes

Search categories