COVID-19 Response

Council offices, libraries and VICs will re-open from Monday 23 November, however some services will remain closed until further notice.

For more detailed information about particular services affected click here and for the latest updates on Alexandrina Council's response to COVID-19 click here

Please contact us by phone 8555 7000 or email

Dismiss alert


Council By-Laws are able to be made by a Council in accordance with Section 246 of the Local Government Act 1999. By-Laws are local laws established by councils to deal with issues specific to the relevant council area. Council can issue penalties including expiation notices (fines) for non-compliance of its By-Law.

Alexandrina Council administers the following By-Laws in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Local Government Act 1999.

Note: In some cases, Clause 4.1.1 references the incorrect By Law number, however the title is correct. This is a minor typographical error which does not have any substantial bearing on the operation of the By Laws.

The Local Government Act 1999 requires these By-laws to be reviewed every seven years. As such a review process was undertaken throughout 2016 and came into effect on 15 January 2017.

Because of the new Local Nuisance and Litter Control Bill 2015, the previous By-Law No. 6 – Nuisances Caused by Building Sites is no longer required, but the need for an additional Foreshore By-law was identified.

A public consultation process was undertaken, and all submissions were considered in the final drafting of the By-laws.  These By-laws were approved at the Council Meeting on 1 August 2016.  There was a 4 month period where the By-Laws must be published in the Government Gazette (required under the legislation) starting on 31 August 2016, enabling the new By-laws to be effective from 15 January 2017.